Media Reviews for Oct-Nov-Dec 2015

Comments Off on Media Reviews for Oct-Nov-Dec 2015

Media Reviews for Oct-Nov-Dec 2015

The Slow Down Diet: Eating for Pleasure, Energy, and Weight Loss

By Marc David

ISBN-13: 978-1-62055-508-8 (Healing Arts Press, 2015)

We’ve all been there: Eat less, exercise more, and I will lose weight. It doesn’t take long to figure out that without proper nourishment you will lose more than weight. It was Chapter/Week 5 when I started understanding what Marc David was actually getting at when he explains how the metabolic process is directly affected by our emotions, specifically pleasure. That, along with the awareness of simply breathing while I eat, has made a noticeable improvement in my health. In today’s world with the degradation of our food supply, it is even more important to pay attention to this information and our emotional relationship with what we eat. This book marks the 10th anniversary of his first book and it’s even better.

Dhara Lemos, Lotus Guide


The Power of the Herd: A Nonpredatory Approach to Social Intelligence, Leadership, and Innovation

By Linda Kohanov

ISBN-13: 978-1-60868-371-0 (New World Library, 2015)

We have an unmistakable and undeniable failure in our power structures and how and why we choose our leaders. Let’s face it; most of today’s leaders are egocentric predators who have clawed their way to the top. Our leaders have lost their personal connection with society, making social bonding all but impossible. To follow the natural principles of the herd that have obviously been working for millennia seems a logical step for a civilization to take if it wants to continue. It’s definitely a step into higher consciousness where the solutions to today’s problems will be found. Do you want to be a leader? Start here …

Rahasya Poe, Lotus Guide


Mind over Medicine: Scientific Proof That You Can Heal Yourself

By Lissa Rankin, MD

ISBN-13: 978-1-40193-999-1 (Hay House, 2014)

Imagine Dr. Lissa Rankin’s surprise when she saw this startling pattern in many of her patients: Those who were wealthy and practicing good health habits—green juices, yoga, meditation—were inexplicably very ill. However, patients who ate doughnuts, smoked cigarettes, and drank alcohol were quite healthy. Dr. Rankin herself was on seven prescription medications at age 33. The traditional equation of diet + exercise = health wasn’t working. These paradoxical results led Dr. Rankin to a two-year sabbatical from medicine. She had one question: “What do you need to heal yourself?” The results? Whole Health Medicine,” a radical new approach to health care that merges spirituality and science. Mind over Medicine describes the principles of Whole Health Medicine, addressing life situations that cause stress and poor health. Dr. Rankin now trains practitioners and may revolutionize health care.

Mark Light, MD, Lotus Guide


BlindSpots: 21 Good Reasons to Think before You Talk

By Christian de Quincey

ISBN-13: 978-1-62055-446-3 (Park Street Press, 2015)

We’ve all done it—we heard something someone said and it matched with our beliefs so it must be true. Being the publisher of a magazine, I hold myself to a higher standard and have learned to question popular assertions that run rampant in today’s world. Reading this book brought to the surface many of the core assumptions we have blindly accepted through the years. I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I’ve heard two people arguing over who is right, and they were both wrong because they were basing their arguments on faulty suppositions. This can create a dangerous situation in a civilization with advanced technology. The timing for a book such as this has never been more essential than it is right now in our world.

Rahasya Poe, Lotus Guide


Astrology in Ancient Mesopotamia: The Science of Omens and the Knowledge of the Heavens

By Michael Baigent

ISBN-13: 978-1-59143-221-0 (Bear & Company, 2015)

Anyone who has read Michael Baigent’s book, Holy Blood, Holy Grail, already knows the academic scholarship he brings to the table. History has been, and still is for most people, a story that’s been force-fed to us by religion and state and very few realize that most of it is deceptive and misleading. Archaeology is finally finding its way by looking at the facts, not at ideas and beliefs that have traditionally funneled our thinking. I thought I knew something about astrology, but it turns out that most of what I’ve been told was based on partial truths passed down through the centuries. This is another academic milestone.

Rahasya Poe, Lotus Guide


AWAKE: The Life of Yogananda (DVD)

ASIN: B012BUQQ4K (Alive Mind, 2015)

Paramahansa Yogananda’s life-changing Autobiography of a Yogi was given to me at the age of 17 and my life forever changed. Religion expanded into a rich inner exploration filled with profound possibilities and the quickening of spirit. Yogananda’s message for me was inclusive, fresh, and expansive, allowing me to experience what had previously been only a matter of faith. Now, more than 50 years after its publication, the message is just as relevant. Apparently, it was the only book on Steve Jobs’s iPad; has sold more than 4 million copies; and foreshadowed recent discoveries in neuroscience. AWAKE is a visual celebration of the relevance of these profound spiritual teachings for our times.

Pat Basham, Lotus Guide

September 28, 2015 |

Comments are closed.

Website design and maintenance MonsterWebz Web Hosting and Web Design.
Skip to toolbar